Security Experts:

Google Launches Data Loss Prevention (DLP) for Gmail

Google this week announced Data Loss Prevention (DLP) for Gmail, designed to help Google Apps for Work customers keep their sensitive information secure.

With the help of the new feature, administrators can enforce DLP policies from a library of predefined content detectors to ensure that sensitive data is not exposed to people who should not have access to it. Gmail DLP automatically takes action based on predefined rules, either quarantining the offensive email for review, informing users to modify it, or blocking it from reaching the recipient.

Available for Google Apps for Work Unlimited customers only, Gmail DLP will make it easier for admins to keep track of employee behavior, and complements already existing features in Google for Work, such as encryption, sharing controls, mobile device management, and two-factor authentication.

Gmail DLP was designed to check for predefined content detectors not only in the email text, but also inside common attachment types, including documents, presentations, and spreadsheets. Furthermore, it provides admins with the option to create their own rules with keywords and regular expressions, to ensure the protection is tailored for the company’s profile, Google explained in a recent blog post.

To further prevent data leaks, admins can set rules that apply to all messages and employees, to individual departments and organizational units, to ongoing messages, or to recipients when checking incoming messages. Admins can set general or particular conditions to check for each of the above, and can also define different action rules for each particular case, if needed.

The feature is available for free for Google Apps for Work Unlimited customers, which costs $10 per user per month.

Data Loss Prevention (DLP) for Gmail was launched to both Rapid release and Scheduled release and is available for all Google Apps for Work Unlimited admins. The feature is rolled out gradually, meaning that it might take three days or longer for some customers to access the features.

view counter