Security Experts:

Facebook Introduces New Login Alerts

Facebook this week introduced a new notification to alert users when their accounts interact with a third-party application using Facebook Login.

Dubbed “Login Notifications,” the new feature is meant to provide users with increased control over their data, the social platform says. 

The Login Notifications are triggered when a user logs into a third-party app and grants it access to their account information, and when the operation is repeated after the app’s access to information has expired. 

Users will receive alerts via the Facebook app and their associated email addresses. 

According to Facebook, both the design and content of these notifications will remind users that they have full control over the information shared with third-party apps, and there will also be a clear path to edit settings. 

“We understand there are sensitivities to people’s information privacy and related information and are taking active steps to honor and improve this in our products,” the social platform said

The new feature is being introduced two months after the social platform revealed that 100 third-party application developers continued to access user information they shouldn’t have, after access to that data was restricted. 

Over the past two years, the Internet giant has been under increased scrutiny over its handling of user data, after it was revealed that communications firm Cambridge Analytica was able to tap into user data without their consent. 

In December 2019, U.S. regulators concluded that Cambridge Analytica deceived users about its handling of information. In November 2019, U.S. Senators asked Facebook to provide explanations regarding its handling of user location data. 

Related: Facebook Rushes to Patch Bug Exposing Page Admins

Related: Facebook: Third-Party App Developers Improperly Accessed User Information

Related: US Probe Finds Cambridge Analytica Misled Facebook Users on Data

view counter